Race to Göttingen: Justin Pipe can move into European Championship qualifying places with win against Kim Huybrechts in Gibraltar Darts Trophy first round today

The race to the 2019 Unibet European Championship reaches its conclusion with the final five spots in the 32-player field to be decided in Gibraltar this weekend.

The Gibraltar Darts Trophy is the 13th and final event on this year’s European Tour, with money won on the tour deciding the line-up for the European Championship, in Göttingen on October 24-27.

27 of the 32 spots available have been secured, with five left to be decided in Gibraltar. Dimitri van den BerghWillie O’ConnorTed EvettsRoss Smith and John Henderson currently sit in the final five places.

Evetts, Smith and Henderson all failed to qualify for Gibraltar this weekend, with Justin Pipe needing a win against Kim Huybrechts in the first round of the Gibraltar Darts Trophy to replace Henderson in the field.

Danny Noppert, who faces Keegan Brown in the first round today, would replace Henderson today, if he beats Brown and Pipe fails to beat Huybrechts.

Ritchie EdhouseKim Huybrechts and Michael Smith can also still make Göttingen, with a minimum of a run to the last 16 required this weekend, while a semi-final for Steve WestKirk Shepherd and Scott Taylor could see them make the European Championship.

Race to to the 2019 Unibet European Championship

Qualified (27): Michael van Gerwen, Ian White, Gerwyn Price, Daryl Gurney, Mensur Suljovic, Peter Wright, Dave Chisnall, Joe Cullen, Jame Hughes, Rob Cross, Adrian Lewis, Keegan Brown, Ricky Evans, James Wade, Stephen Bunting, Simon Whitlock, Glen Durrant, Steve Beaton, Jonny Clayton, Nathan Aspinall, Chris Dobey, Darren Webster, Mervyn King, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Jermaine Wattimena, Krzysztof Ratajski, Vincent van der Voort

Five spots still to be decided (Gibraltar Darts Trophy first round money added)

28. Dimitri van den Bergh £14,000 (R1 vs. Scott Taylor)
29. Willie O’Connor £13,000 (R1 vs. Chris Dobey)
30. Ted Evetts £13,000 (not qualified for Gibraltar)
31. Ross Smith £12,000 (not qualified for Gibraltar)
32. John Henderson £11,000 (not qualified for Gibraltar)
33. Justin Pipe £11,000 (R1 vs. Kim Huybrechts)

36. Danny Noppert £10,000 (R1 vs. Keegan Brown)

39. Ritchie Edhouse £9,000 (R1 vs. Jamie Hughes)
40. Kim Huybrechts £9,000 (R1 vs. Justin Pipe)
41. Michael Smith £9,000 (R2 vs. Brown/Noppert)

44. Steve West £7,000 (R1 vs. Jeffrey de Zwaan)
45. Kirk Shepherd £7,000 (R1 vs. Krzysztof Kcuik)
46. Scott Taylor £7,000 (R1 vs. Dimitri van den Bergh)

Michael Rosenauer £6,000 (R1 vs. Antony Lopez)
Jose de Sousa £6,000 (R1 vs. Darius Labanauskas)

Ryan Joyce £5,000 (R1 vs. Matt Clark)

Ryan Meikle £4,000 (R1 vs. Paul Rowley)
Robert Thornton £4,000 (R1 vs. David Francis)
Darius Labanauskas £4,000 (R1 vs. Jose de Sousa)

Krzysztof Kcuik £3,000 (R1 vs. Kirk Shepherd)

Cor Dekker £2,000 (R1 vs. Dyson Parody)
Wessel Nijman £2,000 (R1 vs. Darren Webster)

Carl Wilkinson £1,000 (R1 vs. Justin Hewitt)
Matt Clark £1,000 (R1 vs. Ryan Joyce)
Paul Rowley £1,000 (R1 vs. Ryan Meikle)
Tony Newell £1,000 (R1 vs. Steve Beaton)
Dyson Parody £1,000 (R1 vs. Cor Dekker)
Antony Lopez £1,000 (R1 vs. Michael Rosenauer)
Justin Hewitt £1,000 (R1 vs. Carl Wilkinson)
David Francis £1,000 (R1 vs. Robert Thornton)

Picture: PDC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: