ET12: Gerwyn Price to begin International Darts Open title defence against either Arron Monk or Kyle Anderson on Saturday

Gerwyn Price will open the defence of his International Darts Open title against either Arron Monk or Kyle Anderson in Riesa on Saturday.

The Welshman claimed his maiden European Tour title in Germany 12 months ago, and is back to defend his crown as the second seed, after top seed Michael van Gerwen’s withdrawal earlier this week.

Ian White, a two-time winner on the European Tour this year, has taken up the top seed berth, and will face either Richard North or Boris Koltsov in the last 32 tomorrow.

Joe Cullen, the eighth seed, landed his first European Tour title last weekend, beating van Gerwen 8-5 in the European Darts Matchplay final in Mannheim. He will start his bid for back-to-back titles against Davy Van Baelen or Ole Luckow.

World number two Rob Cross, the ninth seed, faces John Henderson or Brett Claydon, third seed Daryl Gurney takes on Mickey Mansell or Danny Noppert, while fourth seed Peter Wright will play Ritchie Edhouse or Davyd Venken.

Mensur Suljovic, the Austrian Darts Championship winner a fortnight ago, goes up against Harry Ward or Reece Robinson, UK Open and US Darts Masters holder Nathan Aspinall faces Christian Jentschke or Justin Pipe, and World Matchplay semi-finalist Glen Durrant, the 11th seed, plays James Richardson or Mike Poge.

Fifth seed Adrian Lewis opens against Willie O’Connor or Benito van de Pas, Czech Darts Open champion Jamie Hughes, the 16th seed, plays Daniel Larsson or Steve West, and Ricky Evans faces Adam Hunt or Dimitri Van den Bergh.

Other second-round ties will see Jonny Clayton play Andy Boulton or Steffen Siepmann, Jeffrey de Zwaan take on Joe Murnan or Jelle Klaasen, Krzysztof Ratajski face Mike De Dekker or Michael Rosenauer, and Steve Beaton go up against Manfred Bilderl or Luke Woodhouse.

The three-day tournament, the penultimate event on this year’s European Tour, gets under way with the first round this afternoon (12pm).

2019 PDC International Darts Open
Tournament Draw Bracket – Second Round Onwards 

(3) Daryl Gurney v Mickey Mansell/Danny Noppert
(14) Steve Beaton v Manfred Bilderl/Luke Woodhouse
(6) Krzysztof Ratajski v Mike De Decker/Michael Rosenauer
(11) Glen Durrant v James Richardson/Mike Poge
(7) Nathan Aspinall v Christian Jentschke/Justin Pipe
(10) Ricky Evans v Adam Hunt/Dimitri Van den Bergh
(2) Gerwyn Price v Arron Monk/Kyle Anderson
(15) Jeffrey de Zwaan v Joe Murnan/Jelle Klaasen
(4) Peter Wright v Ritchie Edhouse/Davyd Venken
(13) Mensur Suljovic v Harry Ward/Reece Robinson
(5) Adrian Lewis v William O’Connor/Benito van de Pas
(12) Jonny Clayton v Andy Boulton/Steffen Siepmann
(8) Joe Cullen v Davy van Baelen/Ole Luckow
(9) Rob Cross v John Henderson/Brett Claydon
(1) Ian White v Richard North/Boris Koltsov
(16) Jamie Hughes v Daniel Larsson/Steve West

Friday’s Schedule of Play
First Round – Afternoon Session (12pm UK time)  

Harry Ward v Reece Robinson
William O’Connor v Benito van de Pas
Christian Jentschke v Justin Pipe
Arron Monk v Kyle Anderson
John Henderson v Brett Claydon
James Richardson v Mike Poge
Mickey Mansell v Danny Noppert
Mike De Decker v Michael Rosenauer

Evening Session (6.15pm UK time)
Richard North v Boris Koltsov
Daniel Larsson v Steve West
Ritchie Edhouse v Davyd Venken
Manfred Bilderl v Luke Woodhouse
Adam Hunt v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Andy Boulton v Steffen Siepmann
Joe Murnan v Jelle Klaasen
Davy Van Baelen v Ole Luckow

Picture: PDC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: